Getting over you

Getting over you was the hardest, easiest thing I ever had to do

Getting over you took time
Which I knew I had
But people who were new

Getting over you meant that I had to cry
Let everything out
Experience the months of pain
Laughing through it sometimes

Getting over you was waiting for it to be better
Knowing that it already was
Finding a new identity
Somewhere on the cross

Getting over you was complicated
Better and worse all at once
Longing for your comfort
Knowing it wouldn’t come

Getting over you was something I never thought I’d do

But here I am
So much better
The bitterness is leaving
I’m rising up a new

Getting over you was the worst, best thing I’ll ever do

 

Leave a Reply

