Reflections on who I have become

Last night I got a message from my ex,
Two days before I realised I didn’t know him anymore,
The nostalgia of the relationship nearly got me to reply,
But I’m not going to go there this time.

The path of my life seemed so clear,
The people would all stay there,
In reality I have changed in all ways,
All but those I expected.

I don’t like to plan for the future anymore,
Finding freedom in uncertainty,
Helps me to stay positive,
Yet the unknown is scary still.

Layers upon layers make me up,
Its so easy to revisit who I was,
I’m learning to look back on her with love.

 

Leave a Reply

